New Members


By now, the students at Portsmouth West High School have clearly learned how to navigate these unusual learning experiences. The proof lies in the fact that several West Beta students were not willing to rest on their wins at the National Beta Club Ohio state convention that was held in Columbus back in February. Typically, state winners move on to compete at the national convention in June. Yet this year, the national convention had to move to a virtual platform, so instead of traveling to Texas, West Betas took the initiative to submit their competitions virtually. As a result, PWHS has a record number of competitors as well as winners in the Top 10 in the nation.

West has a total number of four winners that stretched over six competitions. Ranking 10th, Angel Hammond placed in the Woodworking category. Chandler McClurg placed 6th in Creative Writing. Alison Cooper took two competitions. Her Sculpture placed 6th while her Color Photography entry earned her 3rd place. Haven Hileman also placed in two categories. She placed 5th in Agriscience testing and swept the nation as the Speech Champion with her speech on positive peer pressure. West teachers are extremely proud of their students’ successes, especially VoAg teacher Ceci Sherman, art teacher Lance Estep, and Language Arts teacher Alison Smalley.

Portsmouth West H.S. has a deep tradition with the National Beta Club, an academic-service organization, since its establishment in 1987 under sponsors Cecile and Steve Rapp. Since then, the club has been under the sponsorship of Alison & Richard Smalley for the last 24 years. Both Smalleys have served National Beta in their own way by serving as State Sponsor for Ohio. West is looking forward to next year’s competitions since all national winners are only juniors.

PWHS Beta Club earned several honors at the Ohio Senior Beta Club Convention in Columbus, Ohio, April 16-17. According to the Ohio Senior Beta Club, "the mission of the National Beta Club Convention Program is to allow students opportunities to showcase their academic achievement, artistic creativity, critical thinking skills, collaborative teamwork, and increase student leadership. Beta convention challenges all participants to achieve more, serve more, lead more thus succeeding beyond all expectations!" The honors awarded to PWHS Beta members were as follows:

  • Haven Hileman - Division I Agriculture, 1st Place
  • Haven Hileman - Division I Speech 2nd Place
  • Jerrod Opperman - Division I Social Studies, 1st Place
  • Jordan Hammond - Division I Spanish, 3rd Place
  • Bailee Wireman - Division I Creative Writing, 3rd Place
  • Kane Lewis - Division II Agriculture 3rd Place
  • Kane Lewis - Photography, 3rd Place
  • Levi Gleim - Division II Spanish 2nd Place
  • Ashlynn Pfau - On-Site Art Colored Pencil, 3rd Place
  • Robotics Team - 2nd Place, Kayla Sammons, Kim Tieman, Halee Butcher, Victoria Journey, and Levi Gleim

2017-2018 Beta Club Officers 

President - Jade Ratliff

Vice President - Abbie Powell

Secretary - Alec Arnett

Treasurer - Eli Cole

Historians - Madison Cochran

Senior Representative - Madison Compton

Junior Representative - Molly Taylor

Sophomore Representative - Breanna Skaggs

Directors of Activities - Isaiah Norman, Kim Tieman, and Halee Butcher